North Santa Rosa

Student poets read winning poems Saturday at Books A Million

Winners of the 2014 Escambia County Student Poetry Contest will read their original poems about the theme “One More Day. . .” Saturday, April 26 at 2 p.m. at Books A Million, 6235 N. Davis Highway, Pensacola.
This year 392 student poets entered the annual contest sponsored by West Florida Literary Federation. Winners receive cash prizes and gift cards in addition to a copy of a book which includes all the winning poems, according to contest director Susan Lewis. She invites all area residents to come to the event to hear the inspirational young poets.
Winners are 1st– 2nd Grade Division: first place, Gianna Allison, Ferry Pass; second place, Caroline Donalson, Episcopal Day School: third place, Avery Payne, Episcopal Day School; honorable mention, Ryleigh Diamond, Episcopal Day School; special commendation, Claire Popp, Joey Sinkovich, Episcopal Day School.
3rd– 4th Grade Division: first place, Mackenzie Hale, Bellview; second place, Madison Leigh Brown, A.K.Suter; third place, Gabrielle Beauford, N.B.Cook; honorable mention, -Cassady Hawkins, N.B.Cook; special commendation, Nila Samala, Amelia Myers, Warren Henke, N.B.Cook.
5th– 6th Grade Division: first place, Elle Branton, Episcopal Day School; second place, Adele Dorion, Creative Learning Academy; third place, Elisabeth Walton, Episcopal Day School; honorable mention, Meg O’Connor, home school; special commendation, Emma Morrow, Jack Menzies, Episcopal Day School.
7th– 8th Grade Division: first place, Brooke Gaston, Episcopal Day School; second place, Drew Jiminez, Episcopal Day School; third place, Alexandra Grace Branton, Episcopal Day School; honorable mention, Becky McLeod, Ransom; special commendation, Louise Harris, Savannah Tatum, Episcopal Day School; Shana Kilcawley, Lily Savage, Creative Learning Academy.
9th– 10th Grade Division: first  place, Justin Case Shimp, Pensacola Christian Academy; second place Katelyn Annell Troutman, Pensacola Christian Academy; third place, Nick Giovanini, Pensacola Christian High School; honorable mention Justin Fairbanks, Pensacola Christian Academy; special commendation, Benjamin Akerman, Pensacola Christian High School.
11th-12th Grade Division: first place, Kaitlyn Boland, Pensacola Christian; second place, Margaret McCaskill, West Florida; third place, Lexie Grammer, Pensacola Christian; honorable mention, Michael Tenbrink, Tate; special commendation, David Gage Ellis, Pensacola Christian.
First place winners receive $50; second place, $25; third place, $15; and honorable mention, Books A Million gift card. Special commendation poems are also included in the contest book. Winners will again be honored at a book launch in the fall.
Posted by on Apr 22 2014. Filed under Happenings, Local, Schools. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *