North Santa Rosa

Student Poets to read winning “My Florida” poems

Student poets who penned winning poems in the Escambia County Student Poetry Contest will read their “My Florida” verses to the public Saturday, Nov.  2, from 3 – 5 p.m.  at the amphitheater at Vince J. Whibbs Community Maritime Park.  The reading marks the official launch of the book featuring the winning student poems from the 2013 contest sponsored by West Florida Literary Federation.
Inspired by the Viva Florida 500 commemoration, West Florida Literary Federation encouraged students to write poems using the theme “My Florida.”  
Student Poetry Contest Coordinator Susan Lewis invites the public to come hear the student poets read. “It’s wonderful to hear the children read their poems with such emotion.”
Winning poems by the younger students include creative allusions to the flora and fauna of the state, while the older poets experimented with different forms of poetry to express their feelings of Florida. “Several poems also impressed the judges with their effective use of historical allusions.”
The quality of the entries, according to Lewis, was so inspiring that the judges added several special commendations. Winning poets receive copies of the book as well as prizes. Limited copies of the book will be available for purchase at the amphitheater launch or
2013 winners from Grades 1-2, Juliet Penta, first;  Lauren Nowak, second;  Chase Lastowski, third;  and Caleb Talbert, honorable mention. Grades 3-4, Madelyn Almond. First; Ben Spangrus, second; Kira Tully, third; Rachel Parker, honorable mention; Megan Brown, Elz Hightower, Mia Warren, special commendations. Grades 5-6, Madison Cothran, first; David Stafford, second; Amy Sullivan, third; Cassidy Tehran, honorable mention; Allee Donald, Timmy Mrachek, special commendations. Grades 7-8, Evelyn Odom, first; Hillary Humphries, second; Heather Hurst, third; Karoline Parkley, honorable mention; Abby Brown, Louise Harris, Ally Shumpert, Harrison Williams, special commendations. Grades 9-10, Margaret McCaskill, first; Patrick Willingham, second; Carolyn Fulfer, third; Matthew Kreuser, honorable mention; Elizabeth Black, special commendation. Grades 11-12, Layla Zeitouni, first; Emily Haines, second; Kayla Bedell, third; Sarah Jacobs, honorable mention; Amy Sapp, special commendation.
Additional information is available online at http://wflf,org
Posted by on Oct 24 2013. Filed under Local, Schools. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *