North Santa Rosa

2017 WFLF Escambia County Student Poetry Contest Winners


West Florida Literary Federation, Inc. has announced the winners of the 2017 Escambia County Student Poetry Contest. A near record number 611 entries in this year’s contest garnered the most number of student poems since 2011, says Susan Lewis, contest director..  


This year’s theme, “And When the Sun Rises…” was intended to be a pathway out of last year’s “When I’m Alone,” Lewis explains. “Those of us privileged with the task of introducing poetry to young writers must be mindful with themes and prompts. Words have the power to walk our youth down some very dark halls and although they learn as they walk. It is our duty as elder-poets to teach them the techniques which will enable them to find their way from the darkness, through to the light.”


Students will read their winning poems and accept their awards at Books A Million, 6235 North Davis, Pensacola, Saturday, April 29 at 2 p.m. The event is open to the public.


Winners are 1st-2nd Grade Division: First: Natalie Jackson, 2nd grade, “At the Beach,” Episcopal Day School, Ms. Caldwell; Second, Jacob Weekley, 2nd grade, “Dark and Light,” EDS, Ms. Garner; Third, Gus Brown, 2nd grade, “Spring,”EDS, Ms. Caldwell; Honorable Mention, Havanna Walker, 2nd grade, “And When the Sun Comes Up, ” EDS, Ms. Garner; Director’s Selection: Elle Palmer, 2ndgrade, “Hiking Up the Valley,” EDS, Ms. Caldwell; Wilmer Mitchell, 2nd grade, “Camping,” EDS, Ms. Caldwell; Kendall Skitt, 2nd grade, “The Rough Gulf, ” EDS, Ms. Garner; Harper O’Hanlon, 2ndgrade, “When the Sun Rises,”EDS, Ms. Caldwell; Makaila Thomas, 2nd grade,“Ocean,” EDS, Ms. Caldwell.


3rd-4th Grade Division: First: Katie Overholtz, 3rd grade, “On a Sunny Day,” Episcopal Day School, Ms. Taylor; Second: Kyrie King, 4th grade, “Angel of the Night,” N.B. Cook, Mrs. Jackson; Third: Alastair Casler, 4th grade, “Mysteries of the Deep,”N.B. Cook, Ms. Ferrara; Honorable Mention: Spencer Clark, 4th grade, “Am I A Poet?”N.B. Cook, Mrs. Jackson; Director’s Selection: Grace Timmons, 4th grade, “What it’s Like,” N.B. Cook, Ms. Ferrara; Camden Mandel, 4th grade, “Sunrise,” N.B. Cook, Mrs. Jackson; Aubree Lowery, 4th grade, “The Sun Dances into the Sky,” N.B. Cook, Ms. Ferrara; Arrianna Young, 4th grade, “And When the Sun Rises,” N.B. Cook, Mrs. Jackson; Mia Angeles, 4th grade, “Sunshine,” N.B. Cook, Mrs. Jackson.


5th-6th Grade Division: First: Mason Juliusson, 6th grade, “The Shift from Darkness,”Ferry Pass Middle, Mr. Bridges; Second, Tori Vinson, 6th grade, “And When the Sun Rises…” PATS Center, Ms. Haddocks; Third: Samantha Parris, 5th grade, “The Sun Rises,” N.B. Cook, Ms. King; Honorable Mention: Christian Huynh, 6th rade,“Elemental,” Ferry Pass Middle, Mr. Bridges; Director’s Selection: Gemma O’Day, 5th grade, “Outerspace,” Episcopal Day School, Ms. Boyles; Kieyla Jones, 5th grade, “What Happens When the Sun Rises?”Hellen Caro, Ms. Hahn; Joone Kim, 6th grade, “Pitch Black,” Ferry Pass Middle, Mr. Bridges; Victor Ceniceros, 6th grade, “When it Fades Away,”Ferry Pass Middle, Mr. Bridges; Amelia Vines, 6th grade, “When the Sun Drops Gold,” Myrtle Grove, Mrs. Brummet.


7th-8th Grade Division: First: Trent Lowe, 8th grade, “All lives Matter,” Little Flower School, Ms. Hughes; Second: Graybill Partington, 8th grade, “Sunny, My Days are Now Darker,” Episcopal Day School, Ms. Majors; Third: Gabrielle Vines, 8th grade, “A Sun Rises in War,” PATS Center, Ms. Haddocks; Honorable Mention: Emily Doyle, 7th grade, “Hurricane Katrina,” EDS, Ms. Robinson; Director’s Selection: James Young, 7th grade, “The Sun Rises,” EDS, Ms. Majors; Director’s Selection: Ella Major, 7th grade, “Untitled,” EDS, Ms. Robinson; Allie Sinkovich, 8th grade, “You,” EDS, Ms. Majors; Chris Moulton, 7th grade, “Morning at Belleau,” EDS, Ms. Majors; Irelyn Thomson, 7th grade, “The Power of One,”EDS, Ms. Majors.


9th-10th Grade Division: First: Ari’abasi Jenkins, 9th grade, “The Sun Rises,” Tate High School, Ms. Sarikaya; Second: Nashva Brouchton, 9th grade, “Traveling Bear,” Tate High School, Ms. Sarikaya; Third: Gwendolyn Austin, 10th grade, “As the Sun Rises,” Tate High School, Ms. Moorehead; Honorable Mention: Michael Rogers III, 9th grade, “Cosmic Pantry,”Tate High School, Ms. Pardue;Director’s Selection: Arianna Friedl, 10th grade, “Everything Will Change,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; Michelle Luther, 10th grade, “Last Goodbye,” Tate High School, Ms. Young; Payton Conner, 10th grade, “December 23rd,,”Pine Forest High, Lawrence Copenhaver; Tyteeyona Williams, 9th grade, “Messy Girls,” Tate High School, Ms. Sarikaya.


11th-12th Grade Division: First: Evelyn Odom, 11th grade, “A View From the Heavens,” Pensacola High, Ms. Powers; Second: Sal Caligiuri, 11th grade, “And When the Sun Rises,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; Third: Lindsay Sharp, 11th grade, “Love is the Thing with Daggers,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; Honorable Mention: Leslee Scruggs, 11th grade, “Night Game,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; Director’s Selection: Hannah Lawerance, 11th grade, “My Sunrise, ” Tate High School, Ms. Sarikaya; Kaylee Everett, 11th grade, “Secrets,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; Jennifer Repine, 11th grade, “And When the Sun Rises,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; Samantha Harrell, 11th grade, “Frenemies,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; James Jordan-ward, 11th grade, “And When the Sun Rises,”Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald; James Chism, 11th grade, “Resurrection,” Tate High School, Ms. MacDonald.


For more information visit on West Florida Literary Federation on Facebook. 723-2112



Posted by on Apr 28 2017. Filed under Local, Schools. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *